I’m Of Derry

I’m Of Derry

 

I wish you could see it

the way I see it

 

I don’t see a town

divided by river

divided by religion

I see my wee jewel in the

crown of the Northwest

With a language all of our own

‘yes mucker, what’s the craic hi?’

 

I see the walled city,

not on Friday nights

littered with teenagers

but during the week

when tourists learn about

Our siege, Our struggle, Our history.

 

I see our wee Derry Dancers

Ringlets famous the world over.

I hear the music

traditional, funky, blues and jazz

I see the Derry Feis and

talented two year olds

lisping their poetry.

 

I see our buildings

telling the story of

faces long gone

with memories painted on

‘Do ye know where you are?

You’re entering Free Derry.’

 

Doesn’t matter what ye call it

I see both sides of my town or

Stroke City / Maiden City / Londonderry

Forget what you think you know

I wish you could see it

the way I see it.

© Aisling Doherty

Leave a Reply

