A Year of Reading in Mexico: Week One

So this Year of Reading in Mexico, what’s it all about then??

Well for the past four years, while I was studying part time, working full time, and always on the research for new Scream show material, everything I read was for a purpose. Everything was academic or stuff that I just had to read……and by a deadline too. I think I have forgotten how to read for pleasure and that is one of the saddest things I’ve discovered lately. This Year of Reading in Mexico is in part a way of trying to remember the joy of reading something just because. The joy of not having to skim or scan for quotes to back up an argument in an essay, or not having to read something in the hope that it will spark an idea for a poem for a show.

Of course through all of this I’m hoping that my joy of reading will help me rediscover the joy of writing because I think for a long time the creative well has been dry and I have been digging deep to find any spark at all.

This Year of Reading in Mexico is also a way to try and quiet the endless internal chatter and to try and find some semblance of a life plan….if there is such a thing!

So here we go. Week one:

Finished Skellig by David Almond and Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck (both for the classes I’m to be teaching)

Finished Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Started High Fidelity by Nick Hornby

2 thoughts on “A Year of Reading in Mexico: Week One

  1. thetalkinghangover November 13, 2012 / 4:35 pm

    mehico? try “under the volcano” by malcolm lowry, miss poet.

  2. aislingdoherty November 13, 2012 / 5:29 pm

    ooooh!! Thanks for the suggestion – I’ll put it on the list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

