Week Two

I spent the long weekend at the beach and me and my kindle found lots of time between the cerveza’s and the people watching to read lots.  I decided to read Rita Hayworth  & The Shawshank Redemption as Zihautenjo is the beach mentioned in the book and I thought it would be lovely to read it in the place that Stephen King had in mind. I have to say I honestly thought it was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen in my lifetime and I have been lucky enough to see some fantastic places. And what Stephen King says about it really struck me:

“Zihuatanejo,’ he said, rolling the word softly from his tongue like music. ‘Down in Mexico. It’s a little place maybe twenty miles from Playa Azul and Mexico Highway 37. It’s a hundred miles north-west of Acapulco on the Pacific Ocean. You know what the Mexicans say about the Pacific?’ They say it has no memory. And that’s where I want to finish out my life, Red. In a warm place that has no memory.”

I thought it was beautiful and watching the ocean wash in and out I can see why people describe it this way. Although if the Pacific does gain some memory I’d like it to remember to give back the sunglasses it stole from me.

We travelled to Zihuatanejo on the overnight service with http://www.primeraplus.com.mx/

It was cheap and cheerful service, with crisps, juice and a sweaty sandwich thrown in for the journey! We stayed at Adrianitas Hostel, which was a few minutes walk from the beach. Thinking next time about researching how much staying in a villa would be, depending on the people it may not work out that much more than paying for a basic hostel.

Finished High Fidelity by Nick Hornby

Start & finish The Trouble with Alice by Olivia Glazebrook

Start & finish Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King

Start & finish Sea Swept by Nora Roberts

2 thoughts on “Week Two

  1. ericherr January 13, 2013 / 7:06 pm

    Thoroughly enjoyed reading the blog adventures! It was kind of add as I read them in reverse starting with week 14. I was stunned to get smacked with a ginormous cliffhanger after(before?) week 2. NO WEEK 1? How did the whole adventure start. The world may never know!

    • aislingdoherty January 13, 2013 / 7:53 pm

      lol Week One is actually just called A Year of Reading in Mexico…..I guess I should add the “week one” to it just to clarify!!

Leave a Reply

