Week Fifteen

In honour of having another birthday we got a dinosaur piñata and whacked the bejesus out of it, as is the Mexican tradition. I’m pretty sure that somewhere in the constitution it says a bunch of drunk teachers can go apeshit on a kids piñata….although my Spanish still isn’t that good so maybe that’s not what it says.

We had our birthday weekend at the beach. (Just in case you’re wondering, another teacher at the school shares the same birthday as me, I haven’t just started referring to myself in plural) A bunch of us trekked off on the overnight bus and woke up to sandy beaches. What a treat! We ate, drank, sunbathed, snorkelled, swam, watched the superbowl and generally had a relaxed and chilled out time. Got to meet some fab new people including this gorgeous guy right here:

DSCF3299 - Version 2

Celebrating a birthday here in Mexico has been lovely. The kids at school were so sweet, they sang songs for us and generally made it feel like a wee celebration. I got unexpected gifts and there was also special sweetbreads provided for all the staff….and then of course the piñata! Obligatory picture of piñata plus carnage:

DSCF3494

DSCF3519

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I approach my birthday so much more differently these days. When I was younger I hated my birthday, I hated the idea of getting older and I had no idea why. Now that I can look back on that time with wise eyes I can see that I felt frustrated and disappointed with my life. I had expected so much more from myself without ever realising it. I was in an unfulfilling relationship, I had little outlet for creativity and I hadn’t really settled on a work/life balance that I felt comfortable with. I didn’t feel in charge of things at all and every year that went by was just more time with things not going the way I wanted. Over the last few years I have started to appreciate my life and how I can take control of things and shift them to where I want….cos you know, I’m in charge. (I personally think I should be in charge of more things but getting the votes is turning out to be hell!) I’m very appreciative of all the people in my life who make it so awesome. I’m so grateful to have an amazing family and a bunch of friends who are so inspiring in so many ways.

Thank you all 🙂

Finish Post Office: A Novel by Charles Bukowski

Start & Finish The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out a Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

Start Tiny Sunbirds Far Away by Christie Watson

Leave a Reply

