A-Z Bloggers Challenge #2:B

Besties, Beaches and Bliss!

My best mate came to visit me in Mexico this week. One of the lovely things about having a best mate is that there is someone there who will call you out on all your shit and then hold you hand as you come to new realisations. I am blessed to have several people in my life to do this and I feel immensely sorry for anyone who doesn’t.

One of the joys of having your bestie around is being able to sit on a beach and talk about future plans. The beach we were at happens to be one of my favourite places in all the world: Zihuatanejo and it is my hope some day to live there and become one of those chilled out people, I’ve so often heard of.

I have recently discovered the joy of beach holidays. There’s something about the pull of the ocean, the steady sway in and out which calms your breathing and relaxes your mind. It puts everything in perspective and reminds you just how small you are and how insignificant all your problems are in the grand scheme of things. I have always been a worrier, give me a topic and I’ll show you just how worrisome it is. As I’ve grown older I’ve tried to stop the worry habit. I like the saying, “Worry is like a rocking chair, it gives you something to do but doesn’t get you anywhere”. I’ve tried to remember that worrying doesn’t actually solve the problem, in fact when I worry my judgement is clouded and generally everything looks worse. Worrying is not productive. If I can think of a solution to the problem, then that is productive, however mostly I found myself worrying about things I had no control over. These days though I worry less. I have started to breathe easier and sleep through the night. I feel relaxed and content, blissful even. This has lead me to ask the question of my bestie “How much bliss is one person allowed?”  …..something new to worry about.

 

Leave a Reply

