A-Z Bloggers Challenge #3:C

Celebrations

I am a big fan of celebrations. I celebrate all small victories and count my blessings on a regular basis. I feel very sorry for those who cannot find something to be thankful for. However I do think it is a skill to be taught, not something that comes automatically.

Just before the Easter holidays  I asked my form class to reflect on the past term and to write down two great things that happened to them. I have never seen a group struggle with a task so much. I told them I’d had eight great things happen to me in that weekend alone and I was so surprised that they couldn’t think of two in several months. With a huge amount of struggling and prompting I finally managed to get everyone in the class recognise two things to be thankful for.

I don’t know what it is. Maybe it’s the younger generation who’ve had things handed to them so readily, in terms of material possessions, that that becomes the baseline and taken for granted. Maybe it’s just preteen apathy. Hopefully though that exercise will have prompted them to think of things more often that they are grateful for.

Aisling’s Eight Great Things that Happened over Easter Break:

  1. I went on a trip to Puerto Vallarta
  2. Got to spend lots of time in Mexico City
  3. Got to go back to my favourite place – Zihuatanejo
  4. My bestie from Belfast popped over for a visit
  5. Too many giggles to mention
  6. Spent the afternoon at the Museo Frida Kahlo and it blew my mind
  7. Randomly meeting someone in Mexico City, who is from MN & making plans for summer catch up.
  8. Using Spanish in real life and actually being understood.
Leave a Reply

