NaPoWriMo #12

Prompt: Say all the things you never would in real life

(no surprise I deviated from this a little)

I guess

It would be easy to tell you

that you’re my favourite and

I love everything about you.

The words slide

free from my lips

ooze down you like honey.

It looks pretty at first

glistening and twinkling in the sunlight,

a butterfly perches on your ear,

and we laugh about the living art work you’ve become.

As day dips closed

the insects find their way home,

sneaking up on you

licking and sticking to your legs.

An army of ants

try to carry you home

to their nest, a prize.

Beetles crawl up your arm

and you are swarmed by bees,

you cannot open your mouth now

and the flies are blocking your nose,

only the whites of your eyes showing.

I’m sorry I said anything

I try to pick the words off your skin

but I cannot find them

hidden beneath your costume

I turn, close the door behind me

and wait for the exterminator.

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo #12

  1. poyye April 12, 2013 / 6:46 pm

    Wow! You are wonderful.

    • aislingdoherty April 12, 2013 / 8:37 pm

      Oh! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

