Week Twenty-Four

This week has seemed really long. The first week back teaching after any break is always long but this week seemed ridiculous. Getting back into the routine of things is tough going. My body doesn’t want to go to bed at a sensible time and my brain doesn’t want to focus on the work it has to do, you know stupid stuff like preparing lessons and resources. This week I’ve reverted to being a grumpy teenager! Thankfully though I live by myself so I’m not putting anyone else through the agony of acting like a teenager…unlike first time round.

As you know I’m following both the NaPoWriMo & A-Z Blog Challenges this month which means writing every day following a prompt. I’m enjoying the challenges but I think it’s also a little bit to blame for why this week has felt so long. I’m not used to writing on a schedule. I’m not used to having to publish two things every day. Believe me, I know it’s good for me and it’s great for my writing but this is the tough training part before something becomes natural. There are many thoughts on how long something takes to become a habit but the majority seems to suggest around 21 days.

(http://www.spring.org.uk/2009/09/how-long-to-form-a-habit.php)

Maybe this time next week I can report how easy I’m finding the challenges. Maybe I’ll want to give up this teaching melarky and become a full time writer.

I have the utmost respect for full time writers (and also a little slice of jealousy) I enjoy reading about their process and how they create. One of my favourite books is On Writing by Stephen King and if you’re at all interested in the craft I encourage you to read it.

Those who are full time writers obviously have their own process but a large majority of them approach writing like a full time job. They have their desk/office space and go there from 9-5.

“The art of writing is the art of applying the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair.”
(Mary Heaton Vorse)

They stay there even if they are not writing. They stay there and train their minds into accepting the seriousness of what they are doing. They are trying not to listen to the inner critic. They are trying to adequately capture what is in their brain and spread it out on paper for someone else to experience. And I guess that is what I have been doing this week. I’ve been trying to be mindful of the process, not just treat it like something I bought in a pound shop. One of these days I’m gonna need that process to make a living.

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

(Ernest Hemingway)

Reading info this week:

Start & Finish I am a Taxi by Deborah Ellis

Still reading The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler

Leave a Reply

