NaPoWriMo#15

Prompt: Write a Pantun

A pantun consists of rhymed quatrains (abab), with 8-12 syllables per line.

(I started working on one and then I got sidetracked by the tragedy in Boston and I haven’t really the heart to work on it any more. I’m aware this doesn’t follow the Pantun formula but at some point in the future I’ll come back and work on it again. Weirdly though I think the content is kinda apt, given what  happened today.)

An army of followers, mourning one by one

No tears, just silent, their souls bereft

Stretched, starched and blanched by sun

Legs high in the air, no wiggle left

A poor, little, solitary bug

Breadwinner, father, hero no more

laid to rest on a textile rug

That covered a mottled stone floor.

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo#15

  1. poyye April 16, 2013 / 8:45 pm

    Another one I loved!

    • aislingdoherty April 16, 2013 / 10:14 pm

      Thank you! I think I’d like to come back to this one at some point!

Leave a Reply

