A-Z Blogger Challenge: P

Parents and Poets

I am blessed because I have the best parents in the world. (I know everybody thinks they have the best parents but the simple fact is you are wrong and I am right.) My brothers and I were lucky enough to be raised in a house where we were allowed to become exactly who we are supposed to be. We were allowed to make mistakes and learn from them. I, being the eldest, have made some humdingers. I’d like to think it was because I was paving the way so my brothers wouldn’t make the same but I think it’s mostly because I’m quite daft! The fact is that through all those wide and varied mistakes my parents have never once said “I told you so. You should have listened to me.” It has been one of the nicest parts of being a grown up that I can turn to them and say “Remember that time when I asked you what to do and you told me to do A, B and C and I did the polar opposite? Well, you were right, I was wrong and I should have listened to you.”

There was always music in our house and now I can hear a snippet of a song and be right back listening to Dad playing guitar in the living room or Mum practising for Sunday Mass. I love to sing. It makes me happy and reminds me of such good times.

I could go on and on about how amazing they are. This would be a hugely long blog and actually they’d probably be mortified. So I’ll just leave it with one gem from my pops. When we were talking about parenthood and risk taking he said his only job as a parent was to ‘catch me when the parachute failed to open’. I think that’s something pretty awesome.

As well as my parents being a huge inspiration for me, poets have obviously been an inspiration too. I have been lucky enough to gig with some amazing, insightful artists and if you get a chance you should hunt down some work by Steve Smart, Shane Hollands, Lisa Greenaway, Graham Nunn to name but a few. I have huge respect for established poets like Pablo Neruda, Maya Angelou and Charles Bukowski.

One of my favourite poems is from Bukowski. I think it is beautiful and pitiful all at the same time:

 

Raw with Love

little dark girl with

kind eyes

when it comes time to

use the knife

I won’t flinch and

I won’t blame

you,

as I drive along the shore alone

as the palms wave,

the ugly heavy palms,

as the living does not arrive

as the dead do not leave,

I won’t blame you,

instead

I will remember the kisses

our lips raw with love

and how you gave me

everything you had

and how I

offered you what was left of

me,

and I will remember your small room

the feel of you

the light in the window

your records

your books

our morning coffee

our noons our nights

our bodies spilled together

sleeping

the tiny flowing currents

immediate and forever

your leg my leg

your arm my arm

your smile and the warmth

of you

who made me laugh

again.

little dark girl with kind eyes

you have no

knife. the knife is

mine and I won’t use it

yet.

 

Another one of my favourites, which gives me chills every time I hear it, is Sign Language by Rives:

 

 

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do.

2 thoughts on “A-Z Blogger Challenge: P

  1. Siobhán April 19, 2013 / 7:41 pm

    I love Bukowski so much! One of my favourite poets. And this link – wow! I’ve never heard of this guy before, but jeez – it blew my mind! Thanks for sharing Aisling!
    (And I commend you on your consistent NaPoWriMo posts as well as the Blogger Challenge – bravo!) 🙂

    • aislingdoherty April 20, 2013 / 2:05 am

      Thanks!! Bukowski is one of my favs both poetically and in a rock n roll sense. And Rives! Wowsa! Just do a YouTube search and loose yourself for an hour or two! 😉

Leave a Reply

