Week Twenty-Five

This week held the tragedy of the Boston Marathon Bombing. I’m going to admit something to you right now. I didn’t watch an awful lot of the coverage. I didn’t need to see it. That doesn’t mean I didn’t feel it.

I watched and cried during the years of shootings:

Sandy Hook, Aurora, Utøya and so many others right the way back to Columbine in 1999. I’ve been horrified by bombs: 9/11, Omagh and Oklahoma.

I do not need to watch this and witness this again. The grief looks the same and the ache it brings up in me is the same also. It doesn’t mean I feel any less for these victims, it doesn’t mean I am desensitized to the tragedy or any less enraged by the fuckwits who commit such an act. I am doing what I can to hold to the small shaft of positivity in this week. Because I don’t want to lose it. I want to still believe in the overwhelming possibility that people are good. I want to hang on to the stories of a society acting in a supportive manner toward each other. Actually it’s more than that. I NEED to hang on to that feeling. I need to believe that there are more good people than bad, that more kind acts happen each week than unkind ones. I need to believe that more people each day say words of love rather than think thoughts of hate. I need to believe this, because it’s pretty much all I got and I cannot let that spark go out. There are people counting on me to keep their memory alive.

Wise words from Patton Oswalt:

“But the vast majority stands against that darkness and, like white blood cells attacking a virus, they dilute and weaken and eventually wash away the evil doers and, more importantly, the damage they wreak. This is beyond religion or creed or nation. We would not be here if humanity were inherently evil. We’d have eaten ourselves alive long ago.

So when you spot violence, or bigotry, or intolerance or fear or just garden-variety misogyny, hatred or ignorance, just look it in the eye and think, “The good outnumber you, and we always will.”

Reading info:

Finish The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler

Leave a Reply

