A-Z Blogger Challenge: S

Spanish / Spanglish

Y’all know I’m learning Spanish right. I’m trying really hard. Some days I think I’ve got the basics and other days I cannot string a sentence together.* I’m finding it incredibly frustrating.

I know it takes a lot of time to learn a language and there have been a lot of studies done on this.

“Very different research results have been obtained in this regard. Nation (1990) concluded that 5-16 exposures are needed in order to learn a word from context. Meara (1997) suggested a 0.01 hypothesis (1 uptake every 100 exposures) for L2 learners, arguing that these learners are normally unable to be exposed to large quantities of text. A more recent study (Horst, Cobb, & Meara, 1998), which featured low intermediate EFL learners reading a 109-page book over a ten-day period, obtained a 20% pick-up rate.” (From http://www.tesl-ej.org/wordpress/issues/volume7/ej26/ej26a4/)

I always used to be good at languages at school so I’m blaming my age for my lack of progress. I think lessons once a week just won’t cut it. I’m gonna have to start practicing more and talking to random strangers. I’ve started watching some TV shows in Spanish which have English subtitles and I’m hoping this will help. I’m also going to start listening to music Spanish language music. I heard some great bands when we were at Vive Latino and they’re on my Spotify playlist now. I’m a woman on a mission!
Someone also read me some Spanish language poetry the other night and I’ve been looking for sites that have audio links to help me and my pronunciation.

One of the staff at school this week gave me a fab book called “Breaking out of Beginner’s Spanish” by Joseph Keenan. It’s a very funny book written by a man who had no Spanish at all before moving to Mexico City to work as a journalist. So he has made the same pitfall ridden journey that I am embarking on and hopefully can save me many a red face….I’ll be fluent by Monday.

* Weirdly most of the sentences that I can say fluently involve swear words. This should be no surprise to most of you…..

2 thoughts on “A-Z Blogger Challenge: S

  1. collesystem April 25, 2013 / 3:37 pm

    Hey Ash. I remember most of my Spanish, French and Latin from school. Back in the day they beat it into us. I think the more you spend with a group speaking the Spanish language “ONLY” is the way that it works. I think that you have to begin to think in Spanish. Not just learn the language but learn to live it. The rest, well its all just vocab 🙂

    • aislingdoherty April 25, 2013 / 4:08 pm

      Yeah it just takes the time!! More talking, more listening is what’s needed!!

Leave a Reply

