Week Thirty

I’m used to being busy. I’m used to having 101 things to do apart from my job. Last year I was studying part time and performing with the band on top of the day job. It was pretty hardcore and left little or no time to think. I promised myself when I moved to Mexico that I would try and introduce some lazy time into my life. I promised that I’d lie in when I could, that I’d lounge and watch shit telly, I’d read whatever I wanted, I would generally relax. And so far I’ve done a pretty good job of it. I’ve done some exploring round the area, I’ve sampled my fair share of cerveza’s and I’ve had more than enough evenings chillin’ out with a rubbish DVD and my feet up and frankly I’m bored of it now. Time to do things!

I asked around school and found out about some of the classes going on in Tequis. So far I’ve discovered yoga, painting, photography and engraving are all taught in English. One Mexican friend of some of the teachers said he would give me extra Spanish lessons on top of the ones I’m already getting at school…. I think this will involve mostly swear word phrases which actually would be kinda useful! After last weeks post I’m also going to hunt out a dance class!

I think these are the things which mean you have created a life here. It would be so easy to just go to work, come back, drink a few beers and go to sleep but I want more than that. I want to feel like I belong in this place, not just as part of the school family but part of the wider community. I’ll let you know how I’m getting on. And if any of you have tips or stories about how you became part of your current life, let me know!

Reading info:

Still reading Private Papers of Eastern Jewel by Maureen Lindley

Leave a Reply

