Week Thirty-One

I’ve been thinking a lot abut home this week. I had a conversation with my form class about family and was so disappointed to hear about their difficult relationships with brothers/sisters and parents. So we decided to make family a focus for Form Period. I started by giving a presentation about my family which meant I spent days trawling through my old pics to make sure I found some crackers for them. I also told them stories and fun times that we’ve had. It reminded me how much I miss them and also really made me appreciate how lucky I am to be part of an amazing family.

It’s also my Mum’s birthday this week and that of course makes me really wish I was at home for hugs and celebrations…although I can content myself with that fact that it is less than five weeks til I’m back on Irish soil.

This week my brothers band Future Chaser released their new 4 track EP called Bronze. You can have a look at the video here:

And you can also download the track from bandcamp here:

http://futurechaser.bandcamp.com

Or buy it on iTunes here:

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/artist/future-chaser/id334721827

And of course you should be stalking them on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/futurechaser

and Twitter @futurechaser

I strongly advise you to do it. It is an excellent EP and shows the development of this group. They have been working together, producing and performing from the age of 13 and I have been lucky enough to witness their growth both as musicians and human beings. I am immensely proud of them all.

This week I was invited to a 15th birthday party of one of my students. If this had happened in the UK…well no actually it wouldn’t have happened in the UK but here in Mexico the quince años party is a huge big deal. They’ve said some celebrations are bigger and more expensive than weddings. It’s an old tradition here in Mexico which basically means you are presenting your daughter to the world ready for marriage…..kinda disturbing when you think about it ‘cos times have changed and it would be ludicrous to think about getting married at 15 these days. Anyways I didn’t go to the party but the teachers who did said that it was a huge extravagant affair. Really over the top and something worth seeing. I’ll have to keep it in mind and go to the next one.

Reading Info:

Holes by Louis Sachar (for next years classes)

Still reading Private Papers of Eastern Jewel by Maureen Lindley

Leave a Reply

