NaPoWriMo #3

NaPoWriMo #3

Prompt: write a sea shanty

(Based on the Titanic)

 

♬ Oh oh white star

I wish my dreams on you

Oh oh white star

I wish my dreams on you

But they won’t float, but they won’t float

But your riches will ♬

 

Our dreams aren’t counted

While you load up your feathers and pearls

The men guard the gate at the top of the stairs

My body slipped under the weight of the water

Silence enveloped the roar of the anger

You said my pennies determine my future

 

We’re swallowed whole

Buckled by pressure

We’re swallowed whole

Lost here like treasure

We’re swallowed whole

Hearing the sound of the band playing on

 

If they’re lucky they’ll find me in the arms of my lover

Our baby between us, huddled for cover

They’ll bury we three in a plot there in Scotia

Someday someone will stand there and wonder

Where did their dreams go to rest?

Where did their love go to die?

 

We’re swallowed whole

Buckled by pressure

We’re swallowed whole

Lost here like treasure

We’re swallowed whole

Hearing the sound of the band playing on

 

♬ Oh oh white star

I wish my dreams on you

Oh oh white star

I wish my dreams on you

But they won’t float, but they won’t float

But your riches will ♬

Leave a Reply

